My Personal Testimony

He has shown you, O mortal, what is good.
    And what does the Lord require of you?
To act justly and to love mercy
    and to walk humbly with your God.

Micah 6:8

I was born into a Christian family and from childhood my parents exposed me to knowing and understanding who Christ was. My life was molded into being an ‘obedient’, ‘good’ son to my parents. I followed them to church, I went to Sunday School as they told me to, I obeyed and did what was told.

By the time I reached 16, it was time for me to be ‘confirmed’, a point in my Christian journey when I am to affirm my faith to which I was baptized, and to live a life of committed  discipleship. My parents wanted me to go through this process and I obeyed. Preparation meant that I had to attend a series of teachings for many weeks. It was on the day of my confirmation, when the Bishop was about to lay his hands to affirm my faith and pray over me did I really know something different was happening to me, I guess it was as if I was having a hot shower! It was at that moment when the Lord made his presence felt. The realization immediately came to me that I was making a commitment to serve a true living God and that my Lord was making His presence felt at this very moment. I knew at once that I was in the presence of a true living God who first loved me!

My life changed to the point that I was aware that I had to be different and lead a good life, and despite trying to live this life, I had not understood my true mandate at confirmation, which was to be committed to discipleship.

In the last 4 to 5 years, I began learning the bible in a more meaningful and methodical manner, thanks to the bible study group at our church and my mentor Wijith DeChikera and began to understand and realize what I had missed all these years. My passion began to grow for Jesus.

By March 2017, my understanding of the great commission in Mathew 28: 19-20 has become more and more relevant and made me to understand better that I had to be human to reach others, not just sit in my leadership role in the secular world and expect things to just happen.

27 Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.

James 1:27

My life journey has just got very excited! I am looking forward to the exciting times, I know that He has a big plan if I ask Him to help me every step of the way.

Leave a Reply

